News Feed

October 23, 2016 - Barbados welcomes MV Viking Star The MV Viking Star docked for the f ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Griffith wins BLP nomination in St John   Charles Griffith will repres ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Hudson Griffith withdraws from BLP nomination for St John seat     As supporters of the ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Chelsea thrash Mourinho’s United 4-0 Source: AFP- LONDON, United Kingdom ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Relief on the way, says BWA The Barbados Water Authority (BWA) ... +++ October 23, 2016 - SSA board could face legal action, Comissiong warns Outspoken social activist and attor ... +++

Players drafted

sportscplplayersreadytorumbleThe battle lines have been drawn.

Today in Kingston, Jamaica, the draft for the players who will represent the six franchises in the imminent Caribbean Premier League was completed with fifteen players going to each franchise, inclusive of pre-selected West Indian and international franchise players, as well as those from three further pools of elite, regional and international and Under- 23 players.

Several regional stalwarts, as in keeping with the Twenty20 format to be found in the Indian Premier League and other international Twenty20 tournaments, will be playing for island franchises other than those of their birth. Some 12 Barbadians will be involved in the tournament, inclusive of: Kemar Roach (Antigua franchise), Dwayne Smith, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Kyle Mayers, Kirk Edwards, Ramon Reifer, Tino Best (St. Lucia franchise), Fidel Edwards (Trinidad and Tobago), Sulieman Benn (Trinidad and Tobago) and Miguel Cummins (Trinidad and Tobago).Today’s draft was supervised by former Jamaican Prime Minister PJ Patterson, Walter Scott, QC and Lance Gibbs of the CPL’s Cricket Committee.

Players & Franchises

ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA: Marlon Samuels, Ricky Ponting, Kieran Powell, Johnson Charles, Kemar Roach, Steven Smith, Sheldon Cotterell, Dave Mohammed, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge, Justin Kemp, Rakheem Cornwall, Jahmar Hamilton, Anthony Martin, Montcin Hodge

BARBADOS: Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Shakib Al Hasan, Umar Akmal, Jason Holder, Shannon Gabriel, Rayad Emrit, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Kyle Mayers, Devendra Bishoo, Kirk

ST. LUCIA: Darren Sammy, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Tino Best, Tamim Iqbal, Shiv Chanderpaul, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher, Garey Mathurin, Liam Sebastien, Dalton Polius, Kavem Hodge, Kenroy Peters, Nelon Pascal

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO: Dwayne Bravo, Ross Taylor, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Aaron Finch, Samuel Badree, Kevon Cooper, Kevin O’Brien, Suleiman Benn, Adrian Barath, Delorn Johnson, Nicholas Pooran, Yannick Cariah, Miguel Cummins, Justin Guillen

Edwards, Ramon Reifer GUYANA: Sunil Narine, Mohammed Hafeez,

Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, James Franklyn, Christopher Barnwell Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, Steven Jacobs, Ronsford Beaton, Trevon Griffith, Narsingh Deonarine, Veerasammy Permaul

JAMAICA: Chris Gayle, Muttiah Muralitharan, Andre Russell, Ravi Rampaul, Shaun Marsh, Vernon Philander, Danza Hyatt, Carlton Baugh, Nikita Miller, Jacques Rudolph, Chadwick Walton, Jermaine Blackwood, Akeem Dewar, Dave Bernard, Nkrumah Bonner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *