Constituents awarded

The John Boyce Award went to Lorna Garner (right).
The John Boyce Award went to Lorna Garner (right).

More than a dozen people who have given outstanding and loyal service to their constituency and community during the past year, were specially rewarded yesterday at the Almond Bay Conference Centre in Christ Church.

The occasion was the annual Christ Church South Awards Dinner and Presentation of Trophies, spearheaded by Parliamentary representative and Minister of Health, John Boyce.

The commendations included the Branch Chairman’s Award, Branch Award, Parliamentary Representative Award, Constituency Award, Long Service Award, Youth Award and Service Excellence Award.

One of the top prizes, the representative’s award, went to Lorna Garner for her “great contribution to the Christ Church South Constituency”. The other MP award was given to Trevor Jones, for his sterling contribution to the constituency and being a key canvasser in the recent general election.

Another major prize, the Branch Chairman’s Award, was received by Pamela Hope, for, among other things, managing the branch’s financial affairs “without fuss or fanfare, but with great distinction in a quiet and effective manner”.

An 11 year old student of St. Lawrence Primary School was the winner of the Youth Award. Liyee Su was the best primary school student in Christ Church South for the past year and a good all-round pupil, who was described as well-mannered, disciplined and a leader with her age group.

Others prizes were Branch Award — Winston Butcher, Culture Award — Betty West, Constituency Council Awards — Clarence Murrell, Laura Rudder, Richard Massiah and Shernelle Holder, Constituency Award — Sabrina Corbin, Business Award — Ryan Trotman and Sports Award — Junior Gale and Dwight Phillips. (EJ)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *