News Feed

October 22, 2016 - Burst main near Springer Memorial A crew from the Barbados Water Aut ... +++ October 22, 2016 - Helping Haiti The Help Haiti Today Radiothon, has ... +++ October 22, 2016 - St James man nursing stab wounds One woman is assisting police with ... +++ October 22, 2016 - Teen remanded Eighteen-year-old Adam Harris of En ... +++ October 22, 2016 - Police probe Wildey fire Police are investigating a fire whi ... +++ October 22, 2016 - Intrigue among Barbados Pride With the start of the 2016-17 West ... +++

Nominators get lucky

Trust administrator at Royal Fidelity Gail Walters presents Christopher derell with his winnings.

Trust administrator at Royal Fidelity Gail Walters presents Christopher derell with his winnings.

Royal Fidelity, in association with the Ministry of Education, Science & Technology launched the third annual Royal Fidelity National Distinguished Teachers’ Awards on April 29, 2013.

This community initiative awards 10 outstanding teachers who are nominated by parents, students and other members of the community. As Royal Fidelity works with RBC Royal Bank, LIME, Neal & Massy and Barbados Today, nominators have the chance to win up $5,000 in cash prizes. Every two weeks, 10 lucky nominators are awarded $100 each as they say thank you to those teachers who made a difference in their lives.

Chosen at random, the first 10 winners were equally surprised when contacted, as their main goal was showing appreciation to those teachers they deemed deserving. One winner, Sarena Lowe, said: “All of those teachers who go above and beyond should be awarded. I’m just happy I was able to say thank you in this way. I hope she is as successful as I was in winning!”

This segment, providing nominators with the chance to win, which is sponsored by RBC Royal Bank, will continue throughout the duration of the competition. Members of the public are encouraged to continue to submit nominations at as Royal Fidelity seeks to recognise Barbados’ exceptional teaching professionals. Nominations close June 30.

Week 1 winners included Sarena Lowe, Alissa Graham, Christopher Derrell, Tristan Blackman, Sharice Boyce, Ramar Haynes, Keyshon Burnett, Shavonne Perch, Dawn-Marie Sealy and Winette Millington.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *