Marching on

Malik Holder (left) is jubilant after scoring for Welches Primary against St. James Primary.
Malik Holder (left) is jubilant after scoring for Welches Primary against St. James Primary.

The West Terrace Primary School juggernaut continued confidently today with a 5-0 defeat of Good Shepherd Primary, as action heated up in the Bico-sponsored National Sports Council’s Primary Schools Football Tournament.

Playing at Bagatelle, St. Thomas the Zone 2 leaders on 15 points, out-matched and out-played Good Shepherd in every area of the game. The West Terrace, St. James school has conceded only one goal in their five games so far in the competition and today their goalie Kadeem Grandison was hardly troubled as Good Shepherd spent the majority of the game repelling wave after wave of attacks. Ishawn Babb netted a brace of goals as did the speedy Khamal Cumberbatch.

Substitute Semron Thomas made an immediate impression when he was brought into the game and also found the back of Demetrius Richards’ nets.

Also in action at Bagatelle, Welches Primary defeated St. James Primary 3-1 in another Zone 2 clash. Tyrek Mayers scored a brace while Malik Holder netted the third goal. Jaheim Thompson found the back of the nets for St. James Primary.

In Zone 4 match-ups played at Blenheim, George Lamming Primary moved to joint top of that zone with 11 points after beating Grantley Prescod 2-0. They got their goals from Akeil King and Tyrique Belle. Wilkie Cumberbatch are also on 11 points in this zone and today they defeated Luther Thorne 2-0 thanks to goals from Jaymar Carter and the consistent Traniko Browne-Carter.

St. Giles Primary, with Ishem Ellis being the darling of fans who attend their games, beat Charles F. Broome 4-0 also at Blenheim. As has become the norm, Ellis scored, but was outshone somewhat by Reshan Gittens who had a double strike. Jamario Nicholas netted the fourth goal. St. Giles are third in Zone 4 on 10 points.

In a fourth game played at the Ivy, St. Michael ground the improving Al Falah got on the scoresheet thanks to Mohamed Patel but Juquan Edwards’ brace and Dario Blenman’s effort ensured Belmont Primary emerged 3-1 winners.

Arthur Smith win

In Zone 7 the unbeaten Arthur Smith Primary notched up another win when they defeated Milton Lynch Primary 6-0 at Briar Hall, Christ Church. Niall Reid- Stephen has been one of the best strikers in the tournament and he showed it today by putting four goals past Milton Lynch’s custodian Ashon Nurse. Also netting for Arthur Smith who have 15 points and a comfortable six points lead on both St. Bartholomew’s and Blackman & Gollop in their zone, was Jabari Kydd.

The eagerly anticipated clash between St. Bartholomew’s and Blackman & Gollop turned out to be one-sided with the former easily winning 3-0. St. Bartholomew’s has scored heavily during the competition and it was only due to some timely saves from Jediah Blades that they did not score more. Thierry Gale got on the scoresheet once again, as did Jared Stoute and substitute Rick Kobe Lewis.

Providence also won in Zone 7 at Briar Hall, defeating Vauxhall Primary 3-0, compliments of goals from Lucas Gosselin, Miles Ruck and an own goal. Lawrence Lampkin’s strike was enough to give Wills Primary a 1-0 win against St. Christopher Primary, also at Briar Hall, in another Zone 7 encounter.

At Shorey Village, St. Andrew, A DaCosta Edwards Primary solidified their position at the top of Zone 3 despite being held to a 3-3 draw by a resolute Hillaby Turner’s Hall squad.Che Jordan and Xavier Burgess scored for A DaCosta Edwards Primary, who also benefited from an own goal. Netting for Hillaby Turner’s Hall were Sandy Lowe, Rachad Ince and Zarie Small. St. Elizabeth Primary and St. Bernard’s also battled today at Speightstown, St. Peter with St. Elizabeth winning 2-0 thanks to goals from Trey Mayers and Tyreke Hackett. A DaCosta Edwards head Zone 3 with 12 points with St. Elizabeth Primary (6 points) and St. Bernard’s (6) in second and third position respectively.

Other matches played today were: Chalky Mount Primary 2, St. Joseph Primary 0 (Reon Clarke, 2 goals; St. Stephen’s Primary 3 (Rashawn Taylor, Kamal Morris, Raheem Holligan), St. Alban’s 1 (Renacko Clarke); St. Silas 1 (Tyrek King), Sharon Primary 1 (Hans Campbell).

Topping Zone 1 are All Saints Primary and Roland Edwards on 13 points each, while unbeaten Cuthbert Moore head Zone 5 with 15 points ahead of St. John Primary (10 points) and St. George Primary (7).

Hilda Skeene with 12 points top Zone 8 from Gordon Walters (10) and St. Martin’s Mangrove (9).

St. Angela’s are at the top of Zone 9 with 12 points, followed by St. Paul’s Primary (10) and St. Cyprian’s (10).

Defending champions St. Gabriel’s are currently fourth in Zone 9 with nine points. Please also see pages 60 & 61. (WG)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *