News Feed

October 23, 2016 - Barbados welcomes MV Viking Star The MV Viking Star docked for the f ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Griffith wins BLP nomination in St John   Charles Griffith will repres ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Hudson Griffith withdraws from BLP nomination for St John seat     As supporters of the ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Chelsea thrash Mourinho’s United 4-0 Source: AFP- LONDON, United Kingdom ... +++ October 23, 2016 - Relief on the way, says BWA The Barbados Water Authority (BWA) ... +++ October 23, 2016 - SSA board could face legal action, Comissiong warns Outspoken social activist and attor ... +++

CPL announces schedule

The much-anticipated schedule for the inaugural Caribbean Premier League tournament has been announced by CPL organisers, and as expected, matches will be played in six franchise countries – Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago – in the months of July and August.

Kicking off in Barbados on Tuesday, July 30 with an opening ceremony followed by a Barbados versus St. Lucia match, games will be played on various days throughout the four week period.

There will be a three-day break before the two semi-finals, the final match and the closing ceremony which will take place in Trinidad & Tobago on Saturday, August 24.

Sundays through the tournament will feature a doubleheader with matches taking place at 3 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.

CPL organisers emphasised that in putting together the schedule, the goal was to make it as fair as possible for the franchise countries but also ensure that there would be many exciting games between neighbouring and rival countries.

In addition, the fixtures had to work logistically in terms of elements such as travel for the teams and CPL staff and the transfer of TV equipment and crew from venue to venue.

Workable schedule

The result is a schedule that is workable and one where all teams will play three home games, three away games and one game in a neutral franchise country.

CPL organisers said they were pleased to get the fixtures out in just under three months in advance, giving both local fans and prospective tourists the chance to plan their trips to and around the Caribbean to witness the exciting sporting event.

The 2014 and 2015 CPL tournaments will take place from July 5 to August 10 and June 21 to July 26 respectively.

The CPL will next announce details of the players draft event, confirmation of which teams the franchise players will be assigned to and other elements of the tournament.†††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *