News Feed

October 28, 2016 - NUPW reacts to Lowe’s comments on privatization The island’s largest public secto ... +++ October 28, 2016 - BUT warns of new militant approach The Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT ... +++ October 28, 2016 - Cameron expresses confidence in Windies women KINGSTON, Jamaica – West Indi ... +++ October 28, 2016 - Expect victimization! Opposition Leader Mia Mottley last ... +++ October 28, 2016 - House fire leaves ten seeking shelter Fire destroyed a two bedroom wooden ... +++ October 28, 2016 - Progressive spike victory over Deacons Barbados Bearing and Gittens Landsc ... +++

Patterson to chair CPL committee

Former Jamaica Prime Minister Percival James Patterson.

Former Jamaica Prime Minister Percival James Patterson.

Former Jamaica Prime Minister PJ Patterson has been appointed by the West Indies Cricket Board to chair the Caribbean Premier League Cricket Committee.

In a release today CPL organisers said that over the years Patterson had spoken of the vital importance of developing the creative industries, including cricket, to capitalise on what the Caribbean had to offer, including hospitality, trade, entertainment and the unique flavor of the Caribbean brand. The organisers stressed that the CPL would allow all of these to be experienced by the world.

Patterson said he was pleased to be a part of the Caribbean Premier League because he believed it would impact the region in countless ways.

“I have expressed in the past that we have a special brand of cricket here in the West Indies and we need to capitalise on that. I believe the CPL will truly highlight our uniqueness to the world,” he said.

Patterson added. “I have always contended that the future of West Indies Cricket starts at the regional level and the CPL will certainly help in this respect by ensuring that our youth are given the opportunity to be involved with and exposed to first-rate international cricket across the Caribbean.”

The CPL Cricket Committee was formed with three nominations from the WICB and three nominations from CPL organisers. Both accepted each other’s choices openly without reservation. The members from the WICB are Zorol Barthley, Conde Riley and Walter Scott, QC. The members from CPL are Ian Bishop, Lance Gibbs and Charles Wilkin, QC.

The Cricket Committee will be responsible for final approval of the tournament rules and regulations, playing conditions and review any potential breaches. They will also be responsible for any player discipline and approve any team changes throughout the tournament. (WG)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *