Pollard to bat for Bim

sportspollardtoplayforbarbadosfranchiseTrinidad and Tobago and West Indies middle-order batsman Kieron Pollard has been named as the player to be attached to the Barbados franchise for the imminent Caribbean Premier League.

Today the CPL organisers announced the allocation of the seeded Caribbean players, none of whom are Barbadian, as preparations continue ahead of the July start of the inaugural CPL tournament. Pollard is currently representing the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League.

West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo will be the seeded player based in his Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago homeland while his Trinidadian colleague Sunil Narine will be heading to Georgetown where he will be the Guyana-based seeded player.

Jamaica and West Indies left-handed opener Chris Gayle, considered by experts to be the best Twenty20 batsman in the world and who created a number of world records in the Indian Premier League on Tuesday for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, will stay in his native Jamaica with the Kingston franchise.

Gayle’s fellow Jamaican and seeded player Marlon Samuels will be based in the St. John’s franchise in Antigua while West Indies captain Darren Sammy remains at home and will play for the St. Lucian franchise.†Both are currently playing in the IPL, Samuels with the Pune Warriors and Sammy with Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Organisers said today they had spread the six players around the six teams in order to bring a level of competitiveness to each franchise.

Australians Adam Gilchrist and Ricky Ponting, Pakistan’s Mohammed Hafeez and New Zealand’s Ross Taylor have already been contracted to the CPL but no official announcement has been made on which franchise they will be assigned to.

However, reports are that Ponting has indicated to the organisers his interest in playing for the Trinidad franchise.

It has also been reported that Hafeez is expected to go to Guyana while South African Hershelle Gibbs is said to be in talks with organisers to be stationed in Barbados once his contract details are sorted out.

The inaugural CPL, scheduled to run from July 29 to August 26, has replaced the regional T20 tournament and is targeting a substantial regional and global television audience.††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *