Opener Devon Smith (being lifted) won the Sir Vivian Richards award.
Opener Devon Smith (being lifted) won the Sir Vivian Richards award.

New champions Windward Islands captured three individual awards for the 2013 WICB Super50 tournament which ended in Barbados on Sunday night.

Prolific opening batsman Devon Smith, who not only scored the most runs (348) but also topped the averages (58.00), captured the Sir Vivian Richards award, as well as the Gus Logie prize for Best Fielder, having taken seven catches, while off-spinner Shane Shillingford grabbed the Curtly Ambrose award for the leading bowler with 17 scalps at 10.11 runs apiece, and an economy rate of 2.86.

Raymon Reifer, the 21-year-old left-hand batsman and left-arm medium-pacer of runners-up Combined Campuses & Colleges, won the Collis King award for Best All-rounder. Barbadian Reifer scored 159 runs (ave: 22.71) and was the third highest wicket-taker with 11 (ave: 16.18; ER: 3.70).

Carlton Baugh of Jamaica took the Jeffrey Dujon award for most victims – 14 (11 catches and three stampings).

Awards list:

Clive Lloyd Trophy (Champions)

Windward Islands beat CCC by nine wickets in Grand Final

Sir Vivian Richards Award (Leading Batsman)

Devon Smith (Windward Islands) – 348 runs

Curtly Ambrose Award (Leading Bowler)

Shane Shillingford (Windward Islands) – 17 wickets

Collis King Award (Best All-rounder)

Raymon Reifer (CCC) – 159 runs, 11 wickets

Jeffrey Dujon Award (Most victims)

Carlton Baugh (Jamaica) – 11 catches, 3 stumpings

Gus Logie Award (Best Fielder)

Devon Smith (Windward Islands) – 7 catches †(BCA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *