Bravo helps Chennai to first win

MOHALI – West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo took three cheap wickets and retired Aussie Test batsman Michael Hussey made an unbeaten 86 as the Chennai Super Kings registered their first win of the Pepsi IPL 2013 with an authoritative 10 wicket win over Kings XI Punjab at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali today.

The CSK held the early upper-hand from the time their bowlers dismissed Kings XI for just 138.Chasing a modest 139, CSK started their chase cautiously and put on 38 runs in the power play. Hussey survived a nervous moment as a direct hit from Ryan Harris seemed to catch him short, but the third umpire ruled in the batsman’s favour giving him the benefit of doubt. KXIP squandered the opportunities they created as Piyush Chawla put down Hussey off his own bowling before Adam Gilchrist missed a stumping chance giving opener Murali Vijay (50 not out) a life.

CSK got a move on smashing Harris, the innings’13th over for three boundaries and in the process, Hussey brought up his fifty. Vijay then got into the act hitting a couple of boundaries. The openers brought up the century partnership in the 15th over. Hussey smashed Azhar Mahmood for a six and a boundary to take his team to the verge of victory, CSK eventually reaching the target in the 18th over.

Earlier, put into bat, KXIP started with a boundary off the very first delivery through Mandeep Singh. But CSK struck early as Dirk Nannes first had Gilchrist (9) caught by Michael Hussey at leg gully before having Mandeep (9) miscue a pull shot to leave KXIP stuttering at 20 for 2. Manan Vohra (16) smashed Chris Morris for two boundaries, before perishing caught by Hussey off Ravindra Jadeja.

David Hussey (41) was given a reprieve when Vijay dropped him on 12. He hit the first six of the match in the 10th over depositing Bravo over mid-wicket. Along with Gurkeerat Singh (31), David Hussey steadily built the KXIP innings putting on 55 runs for the fourth wicket. But disaster struck as KXIP lost their two set batsmen in the span of two overs as Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed the dangerous David Hussey before Bravo followed it with the wicket of Gurkeerat Singh. Mahmood (8) fell soon after to give Morris his first IPL wicket. The slide continued as R Satish (8) and Chawla (4) departed in Bravo’s 18th over.†

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *