Carlton cruise

Two-time champions TeleBarbados Carlton Juniors began on a winning note yesterday, in the opening round of matches in the third annual Desmond Haynes under-16 knockout cricket competition.

They had a comfortable 86-run win over North Stars Juniors and Banks Juniors also tasted victory in zone ‘B’. However, the matches in zone ‘A’ have been rescheduled due to varying reasons.

At Hoyte’s Village, Barbados under-15 all-rounder Shamar Springer made an attacking 68, in Carlton Junior’s 186 for seven from the allotted 35 overs. He faced 75 balls and hit seven fours. He received good support from Javed Leacock and Demario Richards with 45 and 23 runs respectively.

In reply, North Stars Juniors were bowled out for 120 in 30 overs. Mario Hinds struck 54 off 66 deliveries including six fours but lacked the necessary support. Off-spinner Donte Niles did the damage with five for 26 from his seven overs.

At Ellerton, needing 169 to win, Banks reached the target with 9.4 overs to spare and four wickets in hand. The visitors were led by Ayo Barrow with an unbeaten 48. Joshua Corbin chipped in with 26 and Daron Chase 23. Earlier, off-spinners Corbin and Lijani Cherry shared seven wickets between them as Ellerton Juniors were limited to 165 for nine from their 35 overs. Corbin took four for 20 and Cherry three for four. In Ellerton Juniors’ innings Codi St. Hill made 43 and Lamar Springer 27 to be the leading contributors.

The tournament continues on Thursday at noon at various venues.

Summarised scores: Zone A: At Bristol: Northern Academy vs Fusionz Boutique Passage United. No play.

At Lowlands: Lords Juniors vs YMPC Juniors. No play. Zone B: At Hoyte’s Village: TeleBarbados Carlton Juniors 186- 7 in (35 overs) (Shamar Springer 68, J. Leacock 45, D. Richards 24 n.o; K. Vanderpool 2-25, R. Hurley 2-25). North Stars 120 in (30 overs) (Mario Hinds 54, R. Hurley 18, D. Toppin 14; Donte Niles 5-26, S. Clarke 2-15, Shamari Gibson 2-20). Carlton Juniors won by 86 runs.

At Ellerton: Ellerton Juniors 165-9 in (35 overs) (C. St. Hill 43, L. Springer 27, R. Steele-Yarde 15, R. Burke 11; J. Corbin 4-20, L. Cherry 3-4). Banks Juniors 169-6 (25.2 overs) (A. Barrow 48 n.o, J. Corbin 26, D. Chase 23, K. Burrowes 10; D. Parris 2-15, C. St. Hill 2-32). Banks Juniors won by four wickets.††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *