30 named for Champions Trophy

The West Indies Cricket Board today named a preliminary squad of 30 players for the ICC Champions Trophy to be staged from June 6 to 23 in England and Wales.

Barbadian batsman Jonathan Carter and Jamaican fast bowler Sheldon Cotterrell are among those named in the squad in preparation for the tournament.

Carter, a left-handed batsman who can bowl and also keep wicket, and Cotterrell, a left- arm fast bowler, are the only players in the squad yet to play for the West Indies in any format on the international stage.

Carter was called up to act as cover for opener Johnson Charles during a recent One-Day international between West Indies and Zimbabwe.

Cotterell stormed to a maiden first-class five-wicket haul to help Jamaica wrest control from Trinidad and Tobago in a regional four-day contest recently.

The squad also includes Jamaican batsman Nkrumah Bonner and Trinidad and Tobago fast bowler Shannon Gabriel both of whom have not played in an ODI previously.

Bonner was previously in the international T20 format and Gabriel has three Tests under his belt.

The ICC Champions Trophy will involve eight teams and the West Indies are in group B along with India, Pakistan, and South Africa while Australia, England, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka comprised group A.

Squad (in alphabetical order): Adrian Barath, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cotterrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieron Pollard, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramneresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Devon Smith, Dwayne Smith, Devon Thomas, Chadwick Walton

The final squad of 15 will be named at a later date.††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *