MIX 96.9 FM Dover Juniors have done it again.†They retained their title on Sunday, with a six-wicket win against Fusionz Boutique Passage United in the final of the fifth annual Inspire Sports/National Sports Council under-13 cricket competition.

Playing at the Wanderers club, on Dayrells Road, Dover Juniors reached the target of 152 with 12 balls left. It was the second straight year that they defeated Passage United in the final. Passage United won a hat-trick of titles in the first three editions.

Jadan Jones and Jayden Forde set the stage with a solid opening stand of 50, before it was broken by off-spinner Micah Thornhill. He had Forde (19) caught and bowled in the 14th over as he played away from his body.

Jones and all-rounder Nyeem Young sustained the good work posting 54 in 10 overs for the second-wicket. However, with his score on 36 Jones dragged on a delivery from Tyrese Marshal trying for an expansive drive. He faced 54 balls and struck four fours. The knock carried him to 412 runs the most overall an average of 51.50. He was afterwards chosen as the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

In the next over, Player-of-the- Match Young who made 36, was run- out at the non-striker’s end in a mix-up with his captain Joshua Bishop after playing a ball to square-leg. He struck six fours from 42 balls.

Micah Thornhill picked up his second wicket when his opposite number Bishop was bowled playing down the wrong line. Thornhill’s two for 26 earned him the joint- highest wicket-taker award of 19 with Camarie Boyce.†In was the third consecutive year that Thornhill who has played in all the finals had taken the award.

Despite losing three quick wickets, Kadeem Alleyne (18) and Camarie Boyce (18) held their nerves and saw their side to victory with an undefeated partnership of 32 in 6.3 for the fifth-wicket.

Middle order collapse

Earlier, Passage United elected to bat and were limited to 151 for nine in their allotted 35 overs. They lost a wicket in the day’s four over. Shakkae Marshall with a defiant 60 and Kilano Brathwaite (28) featured in a second-wicket stand of 69 in 16.4 overs before the middle order suffered a collapse.

Marshall’s knock came off 93 balls and contained eight fours.Brathwaite went first, run-out at the striker’s end with a direct hit by Boyce at mid-off after he pushed a ball straight to the fielder.

Thornhill did not last long bowled on the back-foot by Joshua Bishop.

Alleyne (2 for 32) accounted for Rivaldo Clarke and Tyrese Marshall in successive overs, Clarke bowled attempting to sweep and Marshall caught by Jones at point.

Meanwhile, Marshall continued the fight striking two fours in an eventful over from Alleyne after he was earlier dropped at mid-off. He brought up his half-century with a duce to fine-leg.Jaden Edmund returned for a second spell and collected two wickets in his final over and ended with two for 24.

Eventually, Marshall was taken at mid-off in the penultimate over off Boyce (2 for 29).

Summarised scores: Fusionz Boutique Passage United 151-9 (35 overs) (Shakkae Marshall 60, Kilano Brathwaite 28; Jaden Edmund 2-24, Camarie Boyce 2-29, Kadeem Alleyne 2-32).

MIX 96.9 FM Dover Juniors 154-4 in (33 overs) (Nyeem Young 38, Jaden Jones 36, Jayden Forde 19, Kadeem Alleyne 18 not out, Camarie Boyce 14 not out, Joshua Bishop 11; Micah Thornhill 2-36). Dover Juniors won by six-wickets. Player-of-the-Match: Nyeem Young.


Most Runs:† Jadan Jones (Dover Juniors) 412

Most Wickets: (Camarie Boyce – Dover Juniors), Micah Thornhill (Passage United)†- 19 each

Highest Individual score: Kadeem Alleyne (Dover Juniors) 113 n.o

Best bowling figures: Jacobi Gooding (Carlton Juniors) 7-29.

Best all-rounder:†Jared Lovell (Wanderers Juniors) 266 runs, 12 wickets.

Most dismissals by a wicket-keeper: Kilano Brathwaite (Passage United)†Alejuandro Davis (Ellerton Juniors) – 5 each

Most catches: 11 – Ajani Waterman (Passage United) 11

MVP: 412 runs – Jadan Jones (Dover Juniors) 412 runs.

Most Improved Team: Ellerton Juniors

Most discipline team: Carlton Juniors

Appreciation awards: Kenmore Bynoe, Leslay Prescod, Inspire Sports.††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *