Doubling up

Jonathan Carter.
Jonathan Carter.

Exciting Barbados all-rounder Jonathan Carter could face a hectic weekend of crucial regional and local matches, one of which features his alma mater The Alleyne School, who are seeking to win the fifth annual Christ Church Foundation School Joel Garner Twenty20 tapeball title for the first time in a showdown with Foundation A Old Scholars.

Apart from representing Barbados in today’s fifth round Super50 Day/Night match against Windward Islands at Kensington Oval with Kirk Edwards’ team desperate for a win to keep their hopes alive of a place in the semi-finals, Carter has been named in the Alleyne Alumni 13-man squad for the Joel Garner final at Church Hill tomorrow starting at 9.30 p.m.

Carter, a left-hand batsman who bowls either medium-pace or off-spin and can also keep wicket apart from being a brilliant fielder, has been the architect of Alleyne reaching the final for the second time after losing to Coleridge & Parry Old Scholars two years ago.

The 25-year-old Carter slammed a hurricane 58 off 30 balls and took five for 15 in a 14-run win over Combermere Old Scholars in the quarter-finals at Dover, and again had a match topscore of 37 plus effecting a telling run out and picking up a key wicket in co-incidentally another 14-run victory against last year’s champions Deighton Griffith in the semi-finals at Church Hill last Friday.

But with Barbados and the Windwards starting their four-day first-class match on Saturday, Carter could be under pressure to play in the Garner final.

Both Alleyne Alumni and Foundation A Old Scholars who are contesting their first final since the popular tournament was expanded in 2011 to embrace several school teams of Old Scholars, boast of several players with experience at the highest level of local domestic cricket.

Fast bowling all-rounder Kenrick Marshall, a Police stalwart, leads Alleyne Alumni while fellow veteran in batting all-rounder Michael Matthews, who plays for Pickwick, is captain of Foundation A Old Scholars.

The match will be preceded by the third-place play-off between Deighton Griffith Old Scholars and 2010 champions Norman/Roy Marshall Brothers Lodge Road at 6.30 p.m. Lodge Road lost by seven runs to Foundation A Old Scholars in the second semi-final last Friday.

Several individual and other awards will be presented after the final.

Teams for the final (from):

Alleyne Alumni – Kenrick Marshall (captain), Trevon Murray, Jabarri Doughlin, Jason Gilkes, Jonathan Carter, Adrian Maynard, Shawn Boyce, Callitos Lopez, Marty Griffith, Jamel Noel, Jamou Carrington, Ryan Layne, Barry Boyce.

Foundation A Old Scholars – Michael Matthews (captain), Renaldo Arthur, Ron Bates, Ricardo Yearwood, Shane Browne, Jabarri Yarde, Amory Holder, Dwight Carter, Jade Padmore, Damien Farley, Michael Holder, Chad Clarke-Reifer, Dayne Doughty, Chris St. Hill.

Umpires: Jonathan Blades, Earl Collymore.†Umpires for the third-place match are Rodney Barrow and Lawson Cummins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *