30 heading to Jamaica

Christian Selby
Christian Selby

A thirty member-strong Barbados team will be representing Barbados at the 2013 CARIFTA Swimming Championship slated for Jamaica from March 30 to April 3. The team comprises 19 pool swimmers, five open water swimmers and six officials.

Several of the swimmers have previously excelled at the championships in previous years with the likes of Christian Selby, Hannah Gill, Zabrina Holder, Sariyah Sherry and Damon St Prix being among the best young swimmers in the Caribbean.

Selby copped the award for the most outstanding senior swimmer for 2012 at the Barbados Amateur Swimming Association’s awards earlier this year after winning gold medals at CARIFTA 2012 and the Caribbean Islands Swimming Championships. He also represented Barbados at the Short Course World Championships in Turkey.

Also performing outstandingly at the Caribbean Islands Swimming Championships were gold medallists Gill and St Prix and their achievements were duly rewarded and recognised by the BASA this year.

Sherry won the Leah Martindale Trophy for being the most valuable swimmer at CARIFTA 2012, while Holder won the Victor Norville Memorial Trophy after recording the best overall swim at the games. She also had the best performance in an individual swim at the Caribbean Islands Swimming Championships.

Members of the team are presently practising nine sessions per week along with receiving mental and motivational training. The open water swimmers have joined the masters’ swim team and are holding weekly practice sessions in Carlisle Bay.

Squad: Age 11 to 12 Boys Jack Kirby Luis Sebastian Weekes Damon St. Prix Kobi Talma 11 to 12 Girls

Kendi Bynoe Destiny Harding Rebecca Lashley Shannan Smith Mckayla Treasure 13 to 14 Girls Alexis Clarke Hannah Gill Sariyah Sherry Tiffany Titus 13 to 14 Boys Alex Sobers 15 to 17 Girls Amara Gibbs Zabrina Holder Keisha Rouse 15 to 17 Boys Matthew Courtis Christian Selby Open Water Swimmers Vanessa Keany Kai Proverbs Nicholas Hall Jonathan Manning Kent Mullins Coaches Head Coach – Abdul Sharif Coach – Antonio Petrolanda Open Water Coach – Enrico McConney Team Manager Andrea Titus Chaperone Samantha Clarke Open Water Manager Pamela Mullins

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *