News Feed

July 23, 2014 - BLP to deal with Kerrie privately BLP to deal with Kerrie privately A ... +++ July 23, 2014 - Not me and that! Not me and that! Former Prime Minis ... +++ July 23, 2014 - Down the drain Down the drain Minister of Finance ... +++ July 23, 2014 - POWER WARNING POWER WARNING Electricity costs cou ... +++ July 22, 2014 - Seven confirmed cases of Chikungunya Seven confirmed cases of Chikunguny ... +++ July 22, 2014 - Bikers apologise to police Bikers apologise to police The Blac ... +++ July 22, 2014 - Over US$20 million at risk, warns Symmonds Over US$20 million at risk, warns S ... +++ July 22, 2014 - Minister of Finance clears the air on MIGA financing Minister of Finance clears the air ... +++ July 22, 2014 - CPL blues? CPL blues? The 2013 Limacol Caribb ... +++ July 22, 2014 - Patriots force a game three Patriots force a game three There w ... +++ webdesign

MudDogs next week

MudDogs next week

sportsMudDogsreturnnextweekendChefette Restaurants has increased its backing for the Barbados Rally Club’s off-road navigational events for 2013.

In addition to a third year of support for the novice class, the company will sponsor the overall Chefette MudDogs Safari Championship, which kicks off with next Saturday’s (March 16) BRC MudDogs March Safari.

BRC MudDogs Chairman Warren Gollop said: “We are delighted that our relationship with Chefette is to continue, and even more pleased that they are expanding their involvement. From an individual Safari sponsor a few years back, the partnership has grown steadily. This year, both our overall and novice championships will carry the Chefette name, as will the April Safari, while our competitors and volunteer marshals will continue to benefit throughout the season from Chefette’s status as ‘Official Restaurant’ of the Barbados Rally Club.”

It is four months since last year’s final event, the Nassco November Safari, in which Leslie Alleyne and Chris O’Neal claimed their third victory in five rounds. The champions, however, were the winners of the other two Safaris, Chris Armstrong and Wayne Clarke, the latter claiming the champion navigator title for a second consecutive year. Nick Branson and Dominic Straker were Chefette novice champion navigator and driver respectively, so are promoted to the Pro Class for 2013.

Route-setter for the season-opener is Gary Mendes, who has stepped into the breach at short notice.

Gollop said: “We’ve had a late change in the line-up, and I would like to thank Gary Mendes for stepping in at the eleventh hour to take over the route-setting duties for the March Safari from Nic Lorde. Unfortunately, Nic faced some mechanical challenges with his vehicle, which saw him running very short on time.”

While details of the route are still being finalised, the BRC MudDogs March Safari will start at Chefette Six Roads, St Philip. The first crew is scheduled to leave at 3.31pm for route one in the eastern parishes of the island; the dinner stop will be at Andrews Factory, St Joseph, with crews then heading west towards the finish at Portvale Factory, St James, at approximately 11.30pm.

Entries are now open at Motorsport Services in Haggatt Hall and will close next Tuesday (March 12) at noon; the briefing meeting will be at 7 p.m. the same evening, at the Barbados Clay Target Shooting Association Club House at Searles, Christ Church, after which the entry list will be released. The Prize-giving for the BRC MudDogs March Safari will be held at the same venue on March 18, once results are made final.

MudDogs are required to compete in four out of the five safaris to be eligible for year-end championship points. If they compete in all five Safaris, then their best four scores will count. First place on each Safari earns 60 points, second place earns 58, decreasing by two points per position down to 30th, which earns two points. All positions after 30th will earn one point. (RB)††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>