Sammy returns

The West Indies Cricket Board’s Selection Panel has named the 13-man squad for the upcoming two-match T20 International Series as the World Champions take on Zimbabwe.

The matches will be played on Saturday and Sunday at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua.

The team will be led by Darren Sammy, who was at the helm when the West Indies won the ICC World T20 title in Sri Lanka last year. There is a first-time call-up in this format for fast bowler Shannon Gabriel and a recall for allrounder Christopher Barnwell – who were along the leading performers during last month’s Caribbean T20 tournament.

Chris Gayle has asked to miss the T20 Series and has been granted permission accordingly.

The West Indies team will assemble in Antigua tomorrow and will have training sessions at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground on Thursday and Friday morning. The games start at 2 p.m.

Squad: Darren Sammy (Captain); Samuel Badree; Christopher Barnwell; Tino Best; Darren Bravo; Dwayne Bravo; Johnson Charles; Shannon Gabriel; Sunil Narine; Kieron Pollard; Denesh Ramdin; Andre Russell; Lendl Simmons (windiescricket)†††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *