Who will win?

a brief election history of barbados

Will it be B or D when Barbadians go to the polls to elect their new government tomorrow?

For the past 22 years the electorate has exchanged the Barbados Labour Party (14 years/three consecutive terms) and the Democratic Labour Party (eight years/two separated terms) for each other, and one of them will be in charge after tomorrow night.

The partys’ 60 candidates and some independents will be battling to be Members of Parliament, and based on the last five general elections, from 1991 to 2008, the various races will be keenly contested.

In that period there have been some changes to the island’s political climate. This includes the demise of the National Democratic Party, which contested two general elections, and the addition of two new constituencies, St. James Central and St. Philip West from the 2003 general election.

The size of the electorate would have also grown significantly in that time, as well as the type of campaigns the political parties run.

These days election campaigns are more elaborate and expensive, incorporating the use of modern technology and techniques previously only seen in metropolitan countries.

On the next four pages were provide you with the photos of all candidates in the 30 constituencies, and the voting patterns in each constituency over the last two decades. (SC)

One Response to Who will win?

  1. Kay-rani rosita February 22, 2013 at 2:50 am

    CONGRATULATIONS DEMS!!! A well deserved win.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *