Windies women praised

Dr. Julian Hunte
Dr. Julian Hunte

GROS ISLET – President of the West Indies Cricket Board Dr. Julian Hunte has hailed the performance of the West Indies Women’s team in their just concluded World Cup campaign.

“The entire family of West Indies Cricket and the Caribbean region as a whole are immensely proud of the performance of the West Indies Women. While they did not win the title, they advanced to the final by defeating more favoured and acclaimed teams, including the eventual winners Australia,” Dr. Hunte said.

West Indies finished first runner up in the tournament after Australia won the final on Sunday by 114 runs.

“That the West Indies were the only team to beat Australia in the tournament is also testimony to their growing stature in international women’s cricket,” Dr. Hunte added.

“We have seen steady and consistent improvement as part of a coordinated plan of development and as must congratulate and hail the achievements of the players as they have committed and dedicated themselves towards upward mobility,” Dr. Hunte reminded.

The West Indies Women have had notable successes in recent years as outlined below: 2009 – 5th in ICC Women’s World Cup in Australia 2010 – Semi Finals of ICC World T20 in Caribbean

2010 – Winner of ICC Women’s T20 Cricket Challenge

2012 – Semi Finals in ICC World T20 in Sri Lanka

2013 – 2nd in ICC Women’s World Cup in India

Dr. Hunte also congratulated world rated batswomen Stafanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin for their selection to the ICC Team of the Tournament which was announced by the world governing body after the final.

“On behalf of the Board, I thank inspirational and focused captain Merissa Aguilleira and all the players and head coach Sherwin Campbell and the team management for their unrelenting hard work and I also recommit the Board to the continued development of Women’s cricket as part of the WICB Strategic Plan 2011-2016,” Dr. Hunte assured.††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *