Passage United fall to St. Philip Juniors

St. Philip Juniors stunned powerhouse Fusionz Boutique Passage by 24 runs to move to the top of the standings with 18 points in zone A, after the fourth series of matches in the Inspire Sports/National Sports Council under-13 cricket competition last Sunday.

At Passage Road, it was only the third loss in 38 matches in the five-year history of the tournament for the three-time champions and last year’s runner’s up Passage United.

St. Philip Juniors were limited to 149 for seven from their allotted 35 overs. Shian Brathwaite made 53 spiced with four fours and three sixes off 98 deliveries.

Passage United lost wickets at regular intervals and were dismissed for 125 in the 29th over. Jonhli Jordan and David Scott took three wickets each for one and 29 respectively.

At Dover, well- crafted half-centuries from Jadan Jones 79 and Joshua Bishop 62 carried Dover Juniors to their fourth successive win. Dover Juniors tallied 251 for nine off 35 overs. Jones hit seven fours and two sixes, while Bishop counted five fours and two sixes also. North Stars Juniors fell for 120. Left-arm spinner Bishop capped a good all-round match claiming three for 12 and pacer Nyeem Young three for 33.

CounterPoint Wanderers also remained unbeaten with Dover Juniors, getting over Northern Academy comfortably by seven wickets with 14.2 overs to spare at Dayrells Road. Chasing 123 to win, Ryshon Williams hit 48 and Nico Reifer an undefeated 35 to see their side home.

Lords Juniors were bundled out for a record tournament-low 29 in 11 overs against Mark’s Auto Spares Market Hill Young Blazers at Lowlands. There were three wickets a-piece to Jelani Callender and Shakeem Boyce for four and eight.

Earlier, the visitors reached 147 all out. Jamar Lowman led the way with a fine 50 not out.

Summarised scores:


At Passage Road: St. Philip Juniors 149-7 in (35 overs)(Shian Brathwaite 53, T. Griffith 32, L. Greenidge 18, R. Alleyne 10; E. Hoyte 3-24, T. Marshall 2-17). Fusionz Boutique Passage United 125 in (28.5 overs) (S. Marshall 27, K. Brathwaite 26, A. Waterman 19, T. Marshall 11, R. Agard 10; Jonhli Jordan 3-1, David Scott 3-29, Treasure Griffith 2-46). St. Philip Juniors won by 24 runs.

At Beckles Road: ICBL Empire Juniors 161-5 in (35 overs) (Corey Hoyte 50, R. Holder 26 retired hurt, Z. Hill 38 n.o; S. Persaud 2-24, R. Bourne 2-39). YMPC Juniors163-9 in (30 overs) (J. Skeete 43, L. Jones 37; Z. Hill 3-21). YMPC Juniors won by one wicket.

At Wildey/ (SJPP): Banks Juniors 123-7 in (35 overs)(J. Corbin 27, K. Worrell 13, T. Brathwaite 12 n.o, B. Hoyte 11 n.o, S. Waithe 11; A. Waithe 2-16, T. Lashley 2-17).TeleBarbados Carlton Juniors 102 in (30.2 overs) (C. Thompson 27, T. Gibson 18, M. Cyrus 16, S. Glasgow 10; I. Joseph 4-21, J. Corbin 3-14). Banks Juniors won by 24 runs.


At Dayrells Road: Northern Academy Juniors 122-8 in (35 overs) (K. Straker 37, S. Forde 20, B. Johnson 19; D. Trotman 2-10). CounterPoint Wanderers Juniors 123-3 (20.4 overs) (R. Williams 48, N. Reifer 35 n.o, M. Marshall 11). Wanderers Juniors won by seven wickets.

At Dover: Dover Juniors 251-9 in (35 overs) (Jadan Jones 79, Joshua Bishop 62, J. Forde 21, N. Young 17, K. Alleyne 16; N. Patrick 2-30, S. King 2-32, N. Broome 2-36). North Stars Juniors 120 in (23 overs) (D. Slocombe 27, T. Robinson 12; J. Bishop 3-12, N. Young 3-33, J. Edmond 2-26). Dover Juniors won by 131 runs.

At KMV Oval: Isolation Cavaliers Juniors 160-7 in (35 overs)(Ajani Ince 58, K. Justin 24, S. Mayers 12; J. Forde 2-28). Police Juniors 133 in (31.2 overs) (J. Griffith 30, W. Brewster 17 n.o, J. Dowrich 16, M. St. Hill 10; A. Ince 3-24, S. Mayers 3-26, R. Agard 2-34). Isolation Cavaliers Juniors won by 27 runs.

At Lowlands: Market Hill Young Blazers 147 in (32.2 overs) (Jamar Lowman 50 not out, S. Wilkinson 12, S. Walrond 11, S. Padmore 10; N. Rock 3-28, D. Griffith 2-4). Lords Juniors 29 in (11 overs) (J. Callender 3-4, S. Boyce 3-8, S. Padmore 2-9). Market Hill Young Blazers won by 118 runs.††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *