Bajan duo steal the show

Jamol Eastmond (left) was an impressive winner yesterday.
Jamol Eastmond (left) was an impressive winner yesterday.

PORT OF SPAIN -†Top Barbadian cyclists Jamol Eastmond and Philip Clarke were in irresistible form yesterday when they finished one-two at the second racing event of the 2013 Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation Road League. Both cyclists are attached to the Heatwave Cycle Club.†

Starting at the Ato Boldon Stadium, the cyclists headed onto the southbound lane of the Solomon Hochoy Highway as veteran Gene Samuel (Team Trek) tried to make an early break with Geoffrey Harper (Rigtech Sonics). As the bunch ascended into Tortuga, they quickly whittled down to approximately 25 cyclists.

It was not too long before someone tried a successful break; Rudy Ashton (Slip Stream), Collin Wilson (Team Trek) and Eastmond tried valiantly along the second pass along the highway but were reeled in as they began to climb into Tortuga again.

Eastmond however, decided that he was not going to settle for such an easy capture and once again moved away from the bunch. That happened to be the last time that the peloton would glimpse the back of the young Barbadian rider. By the time he received the bell, he had already opened a lead of 90 seconds on a bunch which included some of T&T’s best road cyclists.

The Heatwave rider would complete the final lap with consummate ease to take the victory in 1:38:00.00, exactly 2 minutes within the target bonus time. Phillip Clarke would replicate his placing from one week ago as he out-sprinted Troy Nelson (Bike Smith) and Gevan Samuel (Team Trek) to the finish to take second place.

Veteran Guy Costa rolled into the line at fifth, also beating the target time by 5 seconds.

Akil Campbell topped the Juniors, while Ramon Belmotes took the Juveniles and Tyler Cole the Tinymites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *