News Feed

October 25, 2016 - Vehicle overturns at Warrens Police say no injuries were reporte ... +++ October 25, 2016 - Digital direction Send and receive money digitally, e ... +++ October 25, 2016 - GG winding down school visits In a matter of weeks, once all goes ... +++ October 25, 2016 - Husbands, Walcott brilliant in Canada TORONTO, Canada – Veteran Bar ... +++ October 25, 2016 - Many positives on Windies A tour DAMBULLA, Sri Lanka – Head co ... +++ October 25, 2016 - Dismissal of iMart cashier raises eyebrows The Labour Department is said to be ... +++

Bajan umpire off to World Cup

Gregory Brathwaite

Gregory Brathwaite

Barbadian umpire Gregory Brathwaite has been named by the International Cricket Council to stand in the ICC Women’s World Cup which bowls off tomorrow in India.

He is one of the international umpires selected by the game’s governing body to officiate in the most prestigious event for women cricketers.

“I am honoured to be appointed for the Women’s World Cup. I look forward to every assignment I get as an opportunity for development and progress,” Brathwaite said before he departed for the eight-team event.

“I am looking forward to doing my best and making an impact that would secure more international opportunities.”

Brathwaite will umpire in the first round match between defending champions England and Sri Lanka on Friday. He will also stand in the match between hosts India and Sri Lanka on February 5.

In addition, he has been listed as television umpire for the match between India and defending champions England on Sunday. All these matches will be played at the Cricket Club of India.

The 43-year-old is one of the leading umpires in the region. He has officiated in five One-Day Internationals and one T20 International.

Shortly before leaving for India, he stood in his third consecutive Caribbean T20 Grand Final when Trinidad and Tobago defeated Guyana at Beausejour Cricket Ground last week.

For the ICC Women’s World Cup West Indies will play in Group A alongside England, India, and Sri Lanka. Group B will include Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa. The tournament ends with the final on Sunday, February 17. (windiescricket)††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *