News Feed

October 26, 2016 - Wanted man bulletin Police are seeking the assistance o ... +++ October 26, 2016 - School feeding programmes could help fight NCDs A food and nutrition official has i ... +++ October 26, 2016 - Government has run out of options – Arthur Government’s fiscal policy is inf ... +++ October 26, 2016 - Sick airline A top official of regional airline ... +++ October 26, 2016 - Teachers back away from court threat The Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT ... +++ October 26, 2016 - Beacon supports regulatory move Beacon Insurance Company is giving ... +++

Zimbabwe teams picked for WI tour

Zimbabwe’s top left-arm spinner Ray Price only considered for Tests against West Indies.

Zimbabwe’s top left-arm spinner Ray Price only considered for Tests against West Indies.

Ray Price, the left-arm spinner, has been dropped from Zimbabwe’s limited-overs squad for the upcoming tour of West Indies, but will join the team for the Test series that follows the ODIs and the Twenty20s.

Left-arm seamer Brian Vitori, who has been part of all three squads since making his debut in August 2011 against Bangladesh, was dropped for the tour.

Left-hand batsman Sean Williams, who has played 47 ODIs and a T20 before, was included for the Tests for the first time while he has been left out of the limited-overs team. He played his last international match – an ODI against Canada – during the 2011 World Cup.

Another new name to feature in both Test and limited-overs squads is Tendai Chatara, the Mountaineers right-arm seamer, who has picked up 13 wickets in three first-class matches this season.

The team will play three ODIs, two T20s and two Tests in what happens to be Zimbabwe’s first tour of the West Indies in thirteen years. Four members of the limited-overs squad – Craig Ervine, Chamu Chibhabha, Tino Mutombodzi and Natsai M’shangwe – will return after the ODIs and T20s and will be replaced by Sean Williams, Timycen Maruma, Ray Price and Graeme Cremer for the Tests.

ODI and T20 squad: Brendan Taylor (capt), Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Tino Mawoyo, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara, Chris Mpofu, Prosper Utseya, Regis Chakabva, Malcolm Waller, Keegan Meth, Craig Ervine, Chamu Chibhabha, Tino Mutombodzi, Natsai M’shangwe

Test squad: Brendan Taylor (capt), Tino Mawoyo, Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Regis Chakabva, Malcolm Waller, Kyle Jarvis, Keegan Meth, Tendai Chatara, Chris Mpofu, Prosper Utseya, Sean Williams, Timycen Maruma, Raymond Price, Graeme Cremer. (Cricinfo)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *