Final 13


Four Barbadian women are among a 13-member West Indies squad announced by the West Indies Cricket Board to face South Africa in an imminent series in St. Kitts, St. Lucia and Dominica next month.

Deandra Dottin

Attacking batter Deandra Dottin, leg-spinner Shaquana Quintyne, pacer Shakera Selman and promising all-rounder Kycia Knight are selected in the team which is once again to be led by wicketkeeper Merissa Aguilleira.

The squad features most of the players who helped the West Indies reach the semi-finals of the ICC World T20 tournament in Sri Lanka in October.

June Ogle, the powerful, experienced opening batswoman and Guyana captain is among those selected after not featuring over the past months. She played her only One-Day International for West Indies in India in January, 2011.Aguilleira expressed her satisfaction with the team and said she expected the women to acquit themselves very well.

“We have a good team and we are really focused on the upcoming series against South Africa. We have done very well against them in recent years and as a team we strongly believe we can beat them in this series as well. We always enjoy playing at home and we are especially comfortable in St Kitts, where we will start the series. Warner Park has been a good hunting ground for us, so that’s the perfect place to get going. We look forward to a good series as we prepare for the World Cup in India,” she said.

The squad is full of quality all-rounders including: ICC Women’s Player-of-the-Year Stafanie Taylor, Shanel Daley, Tremayne Smartt, and Shemaine Campbell. The batting will be led by Taylor and the powerful world record holder Dottin. Opener Juliana Nero, who is the most capped West Indian woman in ODIs, is expected to play a significant part with the ball as well.

Shaquana Quintyne

The bowling is led by off-spinner Anisa Mohammed, who is the leading wicket-taker in Windies Women cricket history with 85 wickets in 54 One-Dayers. She will be backed by the teenaged Quintyne, Smartt, with her clever seam bowling, and the pace and accuracy of new ball bowlers Selman and Subrina Munroe.

Originally 18 of the region’s best female cricketers were encamped in training for a month at the Sagicor High Performance Centre at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, prior to the squad being trimmed to 13.

Squad: Merissa Aguilleira (Captain); Stafanie Taylor (Vice Captain); Shemaine Campbelle; Shanel Daley; Deandra Dottin; Kycia Knight; Anisa Mohammed; Subrina Munroe; Juliana Nero; June Ogle; Shakera Selman; Tremayne Smartt; Shaquana Quintyne; Sherwin Campbell (Head Coach); Pat Greenidge (Team Manager)†

Schedule:†Monday, Jan 7: 1st One-Day International – Warner Park (9:30am) Wednesday, Jan 9: 2nd One-Day International – Warner Park (9:30 a.m.) Saturday, Jan 12: 3rd One-Day International – Windsor Park (9:30am) Sunday, Jan 13: 4th One-Day International – Windsor Park (9:30 a.m.)Tuesday, Jan 15: 5th One-Day International – Windsor Park (9:30 a.m.) Saturday, Jan 19: 1st T20I – Beausejour Cricket Ground (4 p.m.) Sunday, Jan 20: 2nd T20I – Beausejour Cricket Ground (4 p.m.)††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *