Smith in charge

Dwayne Smith named as Barbados captain.

Barbados selectors today announced that West Indies middle-order batsman Dwayne Smith will lead a 14-man squad to take part in the 2013 Caribbean Twenty20 Competition to be held in Trinidad and Tobago and St. Lucia from January 6 to 20.

Smith, who is slated to return to Barbados shortly from the tour of Bangladesh, leads a line-up previously announced last month and whose major surprise is the naming today of Shamarh Brooks as his vice-captain.

Marked for a leadership role at the regional level for many years, the 24-year-old Brooks has had an abysmal time as a front-line batsman for Barbados since his 2007 debut, averaging 19 in 21 four-day matches, 24 in twelve 50-over matches and 19 in his previous three T20s. He also averages 83 from six wickets captured with his leg-spin in first-class matches. Brooks was captain of the West Indies’ Under-19 squad for the World Cup in Malaysia in 2008.

It was anticipated that the role of vice-captain might have fallen to either the multi-talented Jonathan Carter or bowling all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite who recently returned to Barbados after captaining the Sagicor High Performance Team on a ground-breaking tour of Bangladesh. Brathwaite has also represented the West Indies in limited overs cricket while Carter, one of the better batsman in the island, is considered a certainty in the line-up.

Shockingly, there is no room in the team for Barbados and West Indies A batsman Kevin Stoute who was the only batsman to score over 400 runs in the recently concluded Sagicor General Twenty20 Championship. Stoute has not even been named as a reserve.

Tino Best is recovering well from an injury sustained in Bangladesh during the second Test and is expected, along with fellow West Indies fast bowler Fidel Edwards, to lead the attack.The only newcomer in the Barbados team is big-hitting left-hander Justin Brathwaite.

Squad: Dwayne Smith, (Captain), Shamarh Brooks (Vice- Captain), Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Carlos Brathwaite, Justin Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Fidel Edwards, Ryan Hinds, Kyle Mayers, Ashley Nurse and Javon Searles.†Reserves: Rashidi Boucher, Jamar Griffith, Alcindo Holder and Christopher Jordan.†††

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *