Renaming St. Lucy Secondary this week

Another secondary school is in for a name change this week.

It is the St. Lucy Secondary School, which will be renamed this Friday in honour of its first principal, Daryll Jordan.

The ceremony starts at 10 a.m. and will see the unveiling of a plaque at the Trents, St. Lucy, school by Minister of Education and Human Resource Development, Ronald Jones, who will also deliver the feature address.

Minister of Industry, Small Business and Rural Development, Denis Kellman and Minister of Commerce and Trade, Haynesley Benn, are also expected to be in attendance.

St. Lucy Secondary School was opened in 1971 with Jordan at the helm. The co-educational school has a roll of 793 students and its principal is Stephen Jackman.

The renaming comes a little over a month since the Garrison Secondary School was given its new name The Graydon Sealy Secondary School, in honour of its first Principal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *