Looking to overtake ‘The Undertaker’

Plenty of high-flying action is expected at the ROAR nationals on Sunday.

The Radio Operated Auto Racers’ 2012 National Championships will take place this Sunday from 11 a.m. until 5 p.m. at the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex, Wildey, St Michael raceway.

In the 1:8 off-road class, the in-form and defending 2011 champion, Robin “The Undertaker” Mustor with his Mustor’s Wholesale Liquors Team Xray XB 9, will undoubtedly be the man to beat, as he has dominated the current season to date with his calm and consistent driving style and currently leads the points standings with a commanding 96 points.

Ryan “Gowah” Hill in his Team Agama trails a distant second with 58 points and Matthew “Left Ball’ in his Mugen MBX 6R rounds out the top three placings with 55 points.

Band of brothers

Team Wadman Brothers led by Chris Wadman, with his Kyosho MP 9, Nick Harrison with his Mugen MBX 6R and Whitney Wadman, plan to take the crown away from Mustor and have confirmed that they plan to lift all three trophies at the end of the day’s racing.However, Team Molasses consisting of Scott Foster in his Hot Bodies D8 and Ryan Hill have been declared as the “dark horses” and are expected to make their presence felt on race day.

Current points leader in the 1:10 on-road class, Seymour “Taxi” Byer, who leads this class with 47 points, has made numerous changes and tweaks to his Mugen MTX 4R including an engine change, to ensure that he has an edge on the rest of the field at the nationals, but stiff competition is expected to come from the likes of Corey and Jeremy Birkett in their very fast Team Xray NT1 machines, the smooth and consistent Corey Stanford in his Serpent 733, Nigel Thomas in his Mugen MTX 4R, Llewellyn “Lulu” Riley in his Team Xray NT1, and Delroy Newton in his Snackers Mugen MTX 4R.

After a long absence from racing, Alex Yarde and Dwayne Goodridge are just two of the many who are expected to come out of retirement, shake off the rust and make their presence felt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *