Polytechnic continue winning streak

Defending champions Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic continued their unbeaten run in Group B yesterday with a dismissive 3-0 victory over Coleridge and Parry at their Wildey, St Michael home ground as action in the 2012 Coca Cola Barbados Secondary Schools’ Football League continued.

The polytechnic controlled the game from opening whistle to the end, especially in the mid-field.

Kelvin Brathwaite, Cameron Lewis and Shaquille Beckles got the reward of scoring the goals from the good build-up service they received from a hard-working mid-field.

The biggest win of the day, however, came from Group B leaders and last year’s losing finalists, Alexandra, who hammered Ellerslie 9-0 at their Speightstown, St. Peter home ground.

In the same group, Combermere suffered a shock 1-0 loss to St. James Secondary adding more intrigue to the group following a Tristan Cummins’ goal.

Both The St. Michael School and Deighton Griffith put four goals past their opponents in other Group B action. The St. Michael School’s goals came compliments of Alex Fergusson, Raedon Benn, Ranaldo Bailey and Deon Hope.

Akio Bartlett and Brandon Yearwood scored two for the Alleyne School in their 4-2 defeat. Deighton Griffith Secondary also defeated Grantley Adams 4 – 2 at Kingsland, Christ Church.

In a Group A encounter Pine Hill St. Leonard’s dropped their first points of the season with a 1-1 draw with Queen’s College at their home field at Richmond Gap, St Michael. Keon Atkins scored for the home side while Daniel Griffith levelled for Queen’s College.

Monday’s round-up:

The St. Michael School 4, Alleyne 2; The Lodge School 2, Harrison College 2; St. Leonard’s 1, Queen’s College 1; Alexandra 9, Ellerslie 1; St. James Secondary 1, Combermere 0; Deighton Griffith 4, Grantley Adams Memorial 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *