RC racers not holding back for final season

Scott Foster in full flight.

The Radio Operated Auto Racers got their fourth and final racing season for the year off to a great start on Sunday at the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex raceway with three exciting classes of racing.

In the 1:8 Open Buggy Class, Nick Harrison picked up where he left off last season, by recording a hat-trick of victories in his Mugen MBX 6R. He however had to endure serious competition from a much improved Andrew ‘Scooby” Smith in his Mustor’s Wholesale Liquors Team Xray XB 808 and Richard Gamble, also using similar machinery.

Corey Stanford drove his Serpent 747 impressively in

the only race recorded for the 1:10 Modified On Road Class, simply humiliating his competition but constantly waiting on them to catch up to him, letting them pass and then easily passing them again. Jeremy Birkett in his team Xray NT1 held on for second place while Nigel Thomas in his Mugen MTX 4R placed third.

Scott Foster in his Hot Bodies D8 sent a serious signal to the other competitors in the 1:8 “Modified” Off Road Class that he was back to win and win he did in the first of the two races run.

Foster lead from start to finish and forced Season three champion Robin “The Undertaker” Mustor to

settle for second position after having some mechanical difficulties earlier in the race with his Mustor’s Wholesale Team Xray XB 9, while Brian “Neckey” Bayne with a similar machine, rounded out the top three.

Mustor, however, made all the necessary tweaks to ensure that his vehicle was properly prepared for the second race and from the time the race came under starter’s orders, he charged to the front of the pack and never looked back, easily lapping the entire field and turning the tables on Foster who had to settle for second place this time around and Matthew “Left Ball” Whitney in his Wadman Brothers Mugen MBX 6R filled the final podium spot.

The second day of racing resumes this Sunday at 2 p.m. (PR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *