WICB retains team of selectors

Clyde Butts

The West Indies Cricket Board has retained their current selection panel of Clyde Butts, Robert Haynes and Courtney Browne for another two years until September 2014.

Butts will continue as chairman of the panel, which has presided over an unstable period in the last two years, with player availability becoming an increasingly difficult issue.

Impasses developed between the board and several players, including Chris Gayle, Jerome Taylor and Ramnaresh Sarwan – the latter two having not returned to the national side.

The selection panel will hope their control of players will be helped by an increase in the number of annual retainer contracts being offered – as also voted for by the board. Twenty contacts will be offered to the men from 2012-13, an increase of five from the previous year. The list of 20 players to be offered contracts was also voted through and will be announced at a later date, after the players have been advised of their deals.It was the last board meeting for outgoing chief executive Ernest Hilaire, who is stepping down on September 30 and being replaced by Michael Muirhead. (Cricinfo)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *