Bajans on a roll

Shai Hope

Two out of two. That was Barbados’ pass mark today as they scored their second victory in two days when they defeated Trinidad and Tobago by four wickets in the Regional Under-19 One-Day Champoinship match played at Bayfield, St Philip. This followed their 74-run win over the ICC Americas yesterday.

The defending champions won the toss and inserted the visitors, dismissing them for 197 in 49.4 overs.

Leading Trinidad’s batting effort was Vikash Mohan who compiled a workmanlike 62 in 94 balls and struck six boundaries in the process. His main support came from Stephen Wharwood and Nicholas Pooran who scored 35 and 34 respectively.

Barbados’ fast bowler Darnell Greenidge continued from where he had left off in the three-day competition with 3 for 14, but the real damage was done by Chad Williams who snared four wickets for 24 runs.

Trinidad and Tobago bowled well to extend the game into the 49th over but found a veritable brick wall in the consistent Barbados skipper Shai Hope, who made a composed 61 in 105 balls while striking only three boundaries. Craig St Hill made a measured 42 while Marlon Welcome-Goodman was there at the end of the game with an unbeaten 27.

In other games, Guyana beat Windward Islands by 59 runs at Friendship, St Michael where the highlight of the encounter was a classy century by Guyana’s Shimron Hetmeyer in his team’s massive 317 for 8. Windward Islands made a spirited reply thanks mainly to a swashbuckling 80 in 56 balls from Jerlani Robinson in a total of 258 all out.

At Queen’s Park, Jamaica beat the Leeward Islands by eight wickets in a low-scoring encounter.

Summarised scores: At Friendship: Guyana 317-8 (50 overs) (Shimron Hetmeyer

116; Ricardo Adams 52; Tagenarine Chanderpaul 26; Vijai Surajpaul 24, Kamesh Yadram 23, Mohan Ramdeen 22, Chanderpaul Hemraj 15, Romario Shepherd 11; Shaquille Browne 3-50, Shermon Lewis 2-73). Windward Islands 258 all out (46.3 overs) (Jerlani Robinson 80; Keone George 40, Tarryck Gabriel 35, Larr Edward 31, Roland Cato 26, Gian Benjamin 11; Romario Shepherd 4-58, Gudakesh Motie- Kanhai 2-42). Guyana won by 59 runs.

At Bayfield: Trinidad & Tobago 197 all out (49.4 overs)

(Vikash Mohan 62; Stephan Wharwood 35, Nicholas Pooran 34, Tevin Robertson 22, Jeremy Solozano 16; Chad Williams 4-24, Darnell Greenidge 3-14). Barbados 198-6 (49 overs) (Shai Hope 61; Craig St.Hill 42, Marlon Welcome-Goodman 27 not out, Jonathan Drakes 20, Carlos Maynard 11 not out; Nairon Motital 2-34). Barbados beat Trinidad & Tobago by four wickets.

At Queen’s Park: Leeward Islands 125 all out (36.2 overs)

(Akeem Saunders 38, Duan Webb 32, Deno Baker 19 not out, Colin Archibald 19; Delbert Gayle 2-7, Christopher Powell 2-11, Bryan Gayle 2-23, Oshane Walters 2-37). Jamaica 127-2 (27.1 overs) (Kerry Holness 70; Oshane Walters 30, Tristan Coleman 12 not out). Jamaica beat Leeward Islands by eight wickets.

NB: Match was reduced to 38 overs per side because of weather and field conditions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *