News Feed

October 26, 2016 - Wanted man bulletin Police are seeking the assistance o ... +++ October 26, 2016 - School feeding programmes could help fight NCDs A food and nutrition official has i ... +++ October 26, 2016 - Government has run out of options – Arthur Government’s fiscal policy is inf ... +++ October 26, 2016 - Sick airline A top official of regional airline ... +++ October 26, 2016 - Teachers back away from court threat The Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT ... +++ October 26, 2016 - Beacon supports regulatory move Beacon Insurance Company is giving ... +++

Badminton teams CAREBACO-bound

D’Andre Thorpe will be looking to impress on the Badminton tour.



Barbados’ senior and junior badminton teams will be participating in the CAREBACO 2012 Badminton Tournament from August 19 to 26 2012 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.

The first contingent of the 21-member team flew out of Barbados yesterday morning and the remaining players will travel over the weekend and on Tuesday morning.

The senior team comprises nine players while the junior squad has 11 athletes.

Team Coach is Athelstone Forde while Kevin Wood is the player/manager. Dionne Forde-Haynes will be officiating as the tournament events manager.

The CAREBACO tournament is expected to attract regional entries from Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Suriname, Guatemala, Guyana, Martinique Dominican Republic; as well as international entries from Canada, New Zealand and Scotland.

The Barbados team includes national champions Andre Padmore, Shari Watson (seniors), Amanda Haywood and Shae Martin (juniors), who are expected to be Barbados’ main medal hopes.

The full team is: Kevin Wood, Tamisha Williams, Dakeil Thorpe, Bradley Pilgrim, Damien Howell, Andre Padmore, Shari Watson, Jade Browne, Sabrina Scott, D’Andre Thorpe, Monyata Riviera, Derion Hurley, Amanda Haywood, Shae Martin, Jehu Gaskin, Asukele Harewood, Daniel Duncan, Dominic Howard, Nicolas Howard, Mackenzie Howard, Athelston Forde (coach) and Dionne Haynes (official).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *